杨振宁教授百龄华诞
跨世纪物理泰斗 一甲子中大情谊
关于杨振宁教授
1957年诺贝尔物理学奖得主

杨振宁教授是一位杰出科学家,他与李政道教授提出宇称不守恆,两人在1957年获得诺贝尔物理学奖。1954年,杨教授提出了非交换规范场论(即杨米场论),后来成为粒子相互作用理论的基础。

杨教授1922年出生于安徽合肥,于1942年获西南联大理学学士学位,1944年获清华大学硕士学位;翌年负笈美国,进芝加哥大学,于1948年取得博士学位。1949年,杨教授进入普林斯顿高等研究所任研究员,后来成为教授。1966年,杨教授应聘出任纽约州立大学石溪分校(现为石溪大学)爱因斯坦讲座教授,任理论物理研究所首任所长,并继续研究工作直至于1999年退休。


杨教授慷慨分享其学术心得,更与中大渊源深厚。1964年,他应中大的邀请,在香港作公开演讲。1982年,他出任物理系荣誉讲座教授;1986年至今,他更担任特设的博文讲座教授,对大学的学术发展作出卓越贡献。1993至1998年期间,杨教授与丘成桐教授共同管理香港中文大学数学科学研究所。1997年,杨教授获中大颁授荣誉理学博士学位。1999年,杨教授将他的论文、手稿、相片、影音资料及奖牌,当中包括著名的诺贝尔奖章,慷慨地捐赠予中大,促成了杨振宁学术资料馆的成立。

杨教授的研究屡获奖誉,包括诺贝尔物理学奖(1957)、费米奖(1979)、润福德奖(1980)、奥本海默纪念奖(1981)、美国国家科学奖(1986)、富兰克林奖(1993)、鲍尔奖(1994)、爱因斯坦奖(1995)、俄国波哥柳波夫奖(1996)、昂萨格奖(1999)、教皇学术奖(2000)和费萨尔国王国际科学奖(2001)。

阅读更多
Powered by TranslatePress »

Professor CN Yang at 100
Giant of Physics and Friend of CUHK Across Two Centuries
About Professor CN YANG
1957 NOBEL LAUREATE IN PHYSICS

An eminent scientist, Professor YANG Chen Ning won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1957 together with Professor LEE Tsung Dao for the discovery of non-conservation of parity in weak interactions. He is also the author of non-Abelian gauge theory (Yang–Mills theory of 1954), which has become the foundation of the standard model of elementary particle interactions.

YANG was born in Hefei, Anhui Province, in 1922. He obtained his Bachelor of Science degree from the National Southwest Associated University in 1942 and his Master’s degree from Tsinghua University in 1944. A year later, he went on to the University of Chicago for the PhD, which he obtained in 1948. He joined the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton in 1949, first as a fellow and then as a professor. In 1966, YANG took up the newly established Einstein Chair at the State University of New York at Stony Brook (now Stony Brook University) and the founding directorship of its Institute for Theoretical Physics. He retired from Stony Brook in 1999.


YANG’s generosity as an academic is evident throughout his career, and most vividly for us through his long association with CUHK. In 1964, he was invited by CUHK to give a public lecture in Hong Kong. In 1982, YANG accepted an Honorary Professorship at CUHK, and then in 1986 graciously accepted a special Chair as Distinguished Professor-at-Large. He jointly managed The Institute of Mathematical Sciences at CUHK with Professor YAU Shing-tung during 1993-1998. He was conferred the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa, by CUHK in 1997. In 1999, he generously donated his papers, manuscripts, photographs, audio-visual files as well as medals including the prestigious Nobel Medal and other memorabilia to the University, leading to the establishment of the CN Yang Archive.

YANG has received an array of honours and awards: the Nobel Prize in Physics (1957), the Enrico Fermi Medal (1979), the Rumford Premium (1980), the Oppenheimer Memorial Plaque (1981), the US National Medal of Science (1986), the Benjamin Franklin Medal (1993), the Bower Award (1994), the Albert Einstein Medal (1995), the N Bogoliubov Prize (1996), the Lars Onsager Prize (1999), the Academicum Pontificium (2000) and the King Faisal International Prize (2001)

Read More
English
Powered by TranslatePress »